Waiting for retirement

Just a little over a month left before my semi-retirement starts. Day one I’ll be taking my car in for a little body work, so I’ll have a rental for three days. broken carI’m going to miss the purple and black duct tape on the driver’s side mirror. I still don’t know what’s happening with me going part-time at my current place of employment, but the plan is to work Tues, Wed & Thurs. I’ll have lots to keep me busy over my 4 day weekends.

I haKids-writing-clipart-2ve two books in progress and another ready to come off the shelf after a few years of collecting computer dust. Also have a couple of adventure short stories in my head (maybe novellas). Still mulling over how to handle them. And yes, I write before typing.

Then there’s the magazine that the writing group I belong to is planning on starting once we get the ‘official’ go-ahead. First issue February 2017 – online and a few print copies.

Maybe I’ll find time to get back into my genealogy and relax and do some cross-stitching. I used to stitch pretty much constantly several years ago, before I got into stitch-clipart-crossstitchgenealogy, then writing.

I still have two more courses to take at the U of T, one of which I might be starting in September. It’s either then or January, and since that one is on campus, I think I’d rather travel in the fall then the first few months of the year as the weather is geneschoolrally worse then. The last course is the ‘final project’ which I’m thinking will be that book that’s been gathering computer dust. It’s based on a story I dug up doing some genealogy.

 

Oh, I forgot that I have notes for yet another one. I have about 12k words typed up I believe.

Hurry up October!

maxine

2 Comments

Filed under Genealogy, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Nanci Pattenden, Writing

2 responses to “Waiting for retirement

  1. Congrats on your semi-retirement, Nanci. I loved reading your updates, and you made me laugh when I read about the tape on your car mirror. 😄

  2. That tape has been there almost a year I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

