Extra time to kill – sorta literally

For the past couple of weeks I’ve actually been in a position where I’ve been able to write quite a bit. Generally, I write in the evening or weekend in front of the TV. And not every day. Shameful, I know. I’ve managed to go from about 30% to over 60% the way through the second Detective Hodgins book. I actually started this one last year as part of an assignment for the writing courses I was taking. That 30% (less actually) sat for a long time. I’ve added to it a bit over the past couple of months, but in just two weeks I’ve doubled it. Part of that time has been spent doing research, not just putting ink to paper.

index No, I don’t outline and do all my research before writing. I’m one of those people, as I’ve mentioned before. I have a general idea of where I’m going, but that’s about all. It was only late last month that I decided who the killer was and why. You’d think I’d know that before starting, but no. I had one person in mind, but thought it was too obvious.

And in reference to the earlier comment about putting ink to paper, yes that’s what I do. I have a small notebook from Dollarama. It’s got a cute little kitten on it. I write, then type, write, then type. I’m doing my best not to edit as I go. That’s what I did for the first book, and it really slowed me down. I’m printing out the typed pages (double spaced of course), and putting them in a cheap binder. Just love Dollarama! I’ll admit to having a few marks on the pages, but not from editing. Just things I thought of to fix or add. I’ve even got a few things highlighted on the actual Word document that need a big re-think due mainly to being awkward.

OK, I guess my little break is over. I need to get the last 11k or so written so my wonderful editor can add her comments.

author at work

1 Comment

Filed under Historical Fiction, Mystery, Nanci Pattenden, Writing

One response to “Extra time to kill – sorta literally

  1. Looking forward to seeing your progress 😀 Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

