Death on Duchess Street

Been having some down-time at work lately. It’s rather boring, but the good thing is it gave me time to write. I’ve managed to get almost half way through the first draft of book two in the Detective Hodgins Murder Mystery series. A couple of weeks ago I had an epiphany and figured out who the killer is. It’s always nice for the author to know that.

Unlike other writers, I don’t outline to death (no pun intended). I have a general idea and go with it. I figure things out along the way. That makes me a ‘pantser’. Sometimes my research leads me on a specific path. Other times I have to determine which path to take. I hope the route this one is going satisfies my readers.

I need to get the first draft done and go over it at least once, (or twice) then send it off to my editor. I’ll be at Word on the Street in Toronto on September 27, 2015. I’d like to be able to have two books to sell instead of just the one. With any luck I’ll build my readership at that event. That means having it written, edited, revised and off to the printers by the middle of August at the latest.

Now all I have to do is get through the first draft.

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Fiction, Mystery, Nanci Pattenden, Writing

Leave a Reply

