Paraskevidekatriaphobics

OK, did I get your attention with a weird word?  Paraskevidekatriaphobics  is a morbid, irrational fear of Friday the 13th. I rather like Friday the 13th myself – the day, not the movie. But I do have most of the movies. 😀

What are some of the urban myths?  Well, legend has it . . .  If 13 people sit down to dinner together, one will die within the year. The Turks so disliked the number 13 that it was practically expunged from their vocabulary (Brewer, 1894). Many cities do not have a 13th Street or a 13th Avenue. If you have 13 letters in your name, you will have the devil’s luck. Many buildings don’t have a 13th floor.  I used to live on the 14th floor of my old condo.  I knew it was really the 13th and didn’t mind one bit.  I don’t believe any of the floors had a unit 13 come to think of it.

While most believe the number to be unlucky, the Chinese and the Egyptians of pharaoh times consider it to be lucky. The Egyptians had twelve stages of life, stage thirteen was beyond, thought to be the eternal afterlife.

So, do you think today is a lucky day, or one to fear? If you are living in fear, here’s a thought.  There are two more this year. Friday, March 13 and Friday, November 13.  You might want to book those days off so you can hide under your blankie.

1 Comment

Filed under Mystery, Nanci Pattenden

One response to “Paraskevidekatriaphobics

  1. I’m always going against the grain – since many people have trouble with Friday the 13th I make it a point not to… just to be different. Walking under a ladder never bothered me and love black cats by the way 😉

Leave a Reply

