NaNoWriMo

I think I must have lost my mind last week. On Friday, something came over me and I signed up for NaNoWriMo. It stands for NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth – http://nanowrimo.org/. The month is November and this little writing group has been around since 1999. The idea is to write 50,000 words between Nov 1st and 30th. You’ve got from one minute past midnight the early morning of the 1st right up to 11:59 pm on the 30th. That averages to just under 1700 words every day; 1,666.67 specifically. Every day you don’t write just ups the total for the remaining days. And it’s completely free by the way, but they do accept donations.

10_1_138

 The end result doesn’t have to be a ready-to-publish novel. I doubt it is for anyone. For me, it will be the “puke on the page” method. I may not even bother with chapters. I think the best way for me to get anywhere near 50k words will be just to write and write and write. It will be hard not to edit as I go. Nothing will be organized, at least not very organized. I do have my story in mind, and I think I may have a brief outline somewhere.

 So far I have six buddies, three of which are newbies like me. One I personally know, and one doesn’t live that far away. The other four buddies are outside Canada – Johannesburg, East Yorkshire, Pennsylvania and Colorado.

 I’m looking forward to doing this, I think. Maybe I’m just dreaming and I’ll wake up soon.

crazy

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Fiction, Mystery, Nanci Pattenden, Writing

Leave a Reply

